PDA

View Full Version : Can someone explain this url ?


denex
12-19-2006, 12:31 PM
Hi,

I came accross this url:

http://myria*webhost.com/index.php

is this site part of the network of this forum?

Thanks for any feedback.
:)

Jeff
12-19-2006, 12:37 PM
Hi,

We are in no way affiliated with that hosting company. Myriad Network came first, and although our name and design have been ripped off by a few unscrupulous individuals on a few occasions, we are the one and only. We have no partnerships with any other webhosting companies, nor do we run any other webhosting companies.

I am going to obfuscate the URL slightly since I'm not sure if you're a customer, or a competitor from that host just trying to advertise here, or perhaps gain another backlink for Google. With just 1 post, it's hard to say, sorry!

Jeff
12-19-2006, 12:54 PM
I see you are in fact a customer :)

It's entirely possible that company wasn't aware of us when they started their business, as it looks like their domain was registered just a few months after ours.

denex
12-19-2006, 01:01 PM
Thanks for clearing this up, I'm a customer. Also, thanks for obfuscating the url, nice move, wouldn't want ANYONE to click on this url, even by accident.
I almost fell in this trap. What a wonderfully dishonest way to reap eMail addresses. Do erroneous password attempts get logged somewhere? If this is the case, I'll need to change some logins quickly.

Something else: this reaction was perceived by the customer as being extremely positive, reinforcing his trust in this provider, reinforcing his feeling of having made the right choice, almost a reward for having followed up on a gut feeling.

Thanks again,
denex



Hi,

We are in no way affiliated with that hosting company. Myriad Network came first, and although our name and design have been ripped off by a few unscrupulous individuals on a few occasions, we are the one and only. We have no partnerships with any other webhosting companies, nor do we run any other webhosting companies.

I am going to obfuscate the URL slightly since I'm not sure if you're a customer, or a competitor from that host just trying to advertise here, or perhaps gain another backlink for Google. With just 1 post, it's hard to say, sorry!

Jeff
12-19-2006, 01:14 PM
Thanks for clearing this up, I'm a customer. Also, thanks for obfuscating the url, nice move, wouldn't want ANYONE to click on this url, even by accident.
I almost fell in this trap. What a wonderfully dishonest way to reap eMail addresses. Do erroneous password attempts get logged somewhere? If this is the case, I'll need to change some logins quickly.



I'm not entirely sure what you mean about reaping email addresses. Are you referring to "Client Login" link on the other hosts' website, where it asks for your email address to send their customers their account logins? If so, I wouldn't worry about it too much, for the reason that features like that are not terribly uncommon with webhosting providers.

I would, however, recommend changing any passwords that may have been used in their CPanel Login link, just to be safe. We too have a cPanel login feature located in our Customer Portal (http://my.myriadnetwork.com), as do many other webhosts.



Something else: this reaction was perceived by the customer as being extremely positive, reinforcing his trust in this provider, reinforcing his feeling of having made the right choice, almost a reward for having followed up on a gut feeling.

Thanks again,
denex

I'm not clear on if you're talking about your reaction to our followup in this thread, or one of your customers' reactions after seeing the website of the other webhost and trying to log in, but if you're referring to your reaction to us, I must say thanks for the kind words! :D Thanks for pointing out the other webhost as well and posting your questions and concerns regarding them.

denex
12-19-2006, 01:35 PM
And you can quote me on that.

:)

denex